KfW logoThe KfW (Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau), formerly KfW banking group, is the largest national development bank in the world and by total assets, the third-largest bank in Germany. It was founded on 16 December 1948 with the aim to finance the reconstruction of the German economy after the Second World War.

The capital of KfW is held on four-fifths by the Federal Republic of Germany and on one-fifth by the states. The Federal Republic is liable for all KfW debts and loans. From international rating agencies, KfW has received the best possible credit rating (Triple A-Rating/AAA).

The main activities of the KfW include the realization of public contracts such as the promotion of SMEs and start-ups, granting investment loans to small and medium-sized enterprises, and the financing of infrastructure projects, energy-saving technologies, and municipal infrastructure. Other fields of activity are education loans and film financing.

Total assets: 512 billion EUR

Employees: 5,063

Bankleitzahl: 500 204 00

KfW Bankengruppe Head Office Address:

Palmengartenstraße 5-9
60325 Frankfurt am Main
Phone +49 69 74 31-0
Fax +49 69 74 31-29 44
[email protected]

Bonn Branch

Ludwig-Erhard-Platz 1-3
53179 Bonn
Phone +49 22 88 31-0
Fax +49 22 88 31-95 00
[email protected]

Berlin Branch

Charlottenstraße 33/33a
10117 Berlin
Phone +49 30 2 02 64-0
Fax +49 30 2 02 64-51 88
[email protected]

KfW, 4.5 out of 5 based on 4 ratings
Rate this bank:
GD Star Rating